Take My Hand: The inspiring and unforge

€9.99

In StockIn StockOut of stock

'Unforgettable' Celeste Ng'One hell of a book' Stylist'Heartbreaking and utterly immersive' Kirsty Capes'Deeply moving' AJ Pearce'Wonderful' Cathy Rentzenbrink'Magnificent' Bonnie Garmus'Brims with hope' Elle'Storytelling at its finest' Glamour----------------HISTORY REPEATS WHAT WE DON'T REMEMBER . . .Montgomery, Alabama. 1973. Fresh out of nursing school,...

Out of stock

'Unforgettable' Celeste Ng
'One hell of a book' Stylist
'Heartbreaking and utterly immersive' Kirsty Capes
'Deeply moving' AJ Pearce
'Wonderful' Cathy Rentzenbrink
'Magnificent' Bonnie Garmus
'Brims with hope' Elle
'Storytelling at its finest' Glamour

----------------

HISTORY REPEATS WHAT WE DON'T REMEMBER . . .


Montgomery, Alabama. 1973. Fresh out of nursing school, Civil Townsend has big plans to make a difference in her community. At the Montgomery Family Planning Clinic, she intends to help women make their own choices for their lives and bodies.

But when her first week on the job takes her down a dusty country road to a tumbledown cabin, she's surprised to find that her new patients are just eleven and thirteen years old. Neither of the Williams sisters has even kissed a boy, but they are poor and Black, and for those handling their welfare benefits, that's reason enough to have the girls on birth control. As Civil grapples with her new responsibilities, she takes India and Erica into her heart and comes to care for their family as though they were her own. But one day she arrives at their door to discover the unthinkable has happened, and nothing will ever be the same.

Inspired by true events and a shocking chapter of American history, Take My Hand is a novel that will open your eyes and break your heart. An unforgettable story about love and courage, sisterhood and solidarity, it is also a timely and hopeful reminder that it only takes one person to change the world.

----------------

Readers have been captivated by TAKE MY HAND too:

***** 'Incredibly powerful, moving and heartbreaking'
***** 'Realistic historical fiction at its best'
***** 'Fans of The Colour Purple, The Help, Where Crawdads Sing and To Kill A Mockingbird will love this'
***** 'Stunning, shocking, absolutely fantastic novel . . . I could not put this down!'
***** 'Definitely a must-read. So, so moving. Can't recommend highly enough'

  • Publisher Name:Orion Publishing Co
  • Product Format:Paperback
  • ISBN: 9781474622684
  • Author:Perkins-Valdez, Dolen
  • Publication Date:2022-04-12

If you are not satisfied with your order in any way, get in touch. We have an excellent customer service record and we will do our best to ensure you are pleased with your purchase.

We are happy to refund a product if it is defective, within 30 days of purchase upon the return of your product. If you return a product to us and request a refund due to an error on our part we will be happy to pay for the postage cost to return it to us.

To be eligible for a return, your item must be in the same condition that you received it, unworn or unused & unread, and in its original packaging. You’ll also need the receipt or proof of purchase.

Please note, if you are requesting a refund based on an issue with condition we kindly ask you to provide a photo in order for us to best advise a suitable resolution. 

To start a return, you can contact us at shop@chaptersbookstore.com. If your return is accepted, we’ll send you a return shipping label, as well as instructions on how and where to send your package. Items sent back to us without first requesting a return will not be accepted.

You can always contact us for any return question at shop@chaptersbookstore.com.

Damages and issues
Please inspect your order upon reception and contact us immediately if the item is defective, damaged or if you receive the wrong item, so that we can evaluate the issue and make it right.

Exceptions / non-returnable items
Certain types of items cannot be returned, like custom products or special orders. Unfortunately, we cannot accept returns on sale items or gift cards.

Exchanges
The fastest way to ensure you get what you want is to return the item you have, and once the return is accepted, make a separate purchase for the new item.

Refunds
We will notify you once we’ve received and inspected your return, and let you know if the refund was approved or not. If approved, you’ll be automatically refunded on your original payment method. Please remember it can take some time for your bank or credit card company to process and post the refund too.

Delivery is subject to warehouse availability. Out-of-stock items will be shipped as soon as possible, upon arrival from the manufacturer/publisher. Please take shipping time into consideration.

Customer Reviews

Sunday,Monday,Tuesday,Wednesday,Thursday,Friday,Saturday
January,February,March,April,May,June,July,August,September,October,November,December
Not enough items available. Only [max] left.

WARNING: Max settings 200 code custom color. If you want more than, please contact support us, Kind Regards!

IMPORTANT: Click on the button 'Update on online store' to code active on live theme.

Update on online store Updating style Updated style

Demo Swath, Label settings Preview:

hot
1. hot
Shopping cart

Your cart is empty.

Return To Shop

Menu